Saturday, April 20, 2013

Review: The Lost Girl by Sangu Mandanna

Title:The Lost Girl by Sangu Mandanna
Author: Sangu Mandanna
Published:August 28th 2012 by Balzer + Bray
Book Description:
Eva's life is not her own. She is a creation, an abomination--an echo. She was made by the Weavers as a copy of someone else, expected to replace a girl named Amarra, her "other," if she ever died. Eva spends every day studying that girl from far away, learning what Amarra does, what she eats, what it's like to kiss her boyfriend, Ray. So when Amarra is killed in a car crash, Eva should be ready.

But sixteen years of studying never prepared her for this.

Now she must abandon everything and everyone she's ever known--the guardians who raised her, the boy she's forbidden to love--to move to India and convince the world that Amarra is still alive.

What Eva finds is a grief-stricken family; parents unsure how to handle this echo they thought they wanted; and Ray, who knew every detail, every contour of Amarra. And when Eva is unexpectedly dealt a fatal blow that will change her existence forever, she is forced to choose: Stay and live out her years as a copy or leave and risk it all for the freedom to be an original. To be Eva.

From debut novelist Sangu Mandanna comes the dazzling story of a girl who was always told what she had to be--until she found the strength to decide for herself

My Thoughts:

I borrowed this book from a fellow blogger. She told be that it was special to her. So I know I need to read this book quick. It didn’t disappoint me at all. It was heart-warming, tear-jerking and memorable.

The story is about Eva, a girl who is made to be an echo. Eva is prepared to be Amarra’s replacement. If ever, she will die. This will include memorizing Amarra’s life events, friends, habits etc.  The Weavers who makes Echoes, implores a strict set of rules in which Echoes need to follow. Not following them will lead to extermination. But how can Eva follow those rules, if she’s pretending to be someone she’s not? Will she ever be free? You have to read this book to find out.

The world-building is inventive and incredible.  It’s one of a kind. The author did a great job in making it unpredictable which in return, made me curious and engross. I find myself being absorbed inside. When it comes to her writing style, I like it. It’s a complex world but she made it simple and easy to understand. It’s believable and unforgettable. I also love how she describes the scenery in Bangalore. I haven’t been there, but it felt like I was there. The pacing of the story is good too. There was not a drop of dull moments. The last few chapters put me on the edge of my seat. There’s action, romance and slight adventure. Thos elements made this book more fascinating.

As for the characters, they are realistic. I love how she was able to make them connectable. I love Eva! Yes, she’s part of my favorite characters of all time. Her intelligence and way of thinking made me like her. Her emotions were felt and bright. I felt her happiness and sorrow. Her will to become who she really is despite the consequences, amazes me. As for Sean, he’s very dedicated to Eva. He’s caring, smart and cute. Ray is a mystery, he’s Amarra’s boyfriend. He’s confuse, hurt and full of guilt. I don’t blame him for his actions. As a reader, I empathize with him. Not much known about the Weavers, except for Matthew and Adrian. I would like to know more about them, if ever there will be a second book.

The love-angle is okay. Eva is only 15 years old, though she’s mature for her age. The romance in the book is innocent and sweet because of the age group. If you’re looking for steamy scenes, this book has none. The romance didn’t make my stomach flutter. It lacks juice but it’s good enough to see the connection between the two characters. I can’t spoil who Eva ends up with. You have to pick up the book to find out.

Overall, The Lost Girl is a brilliant read! I recommend this book to readers who love Crewel and Earth Girl. I want another book from this author.

I give this 4.5 Whales

12 comments:

  1. The plot of this book sounds really different. I'm still waiting for my copy to arrive but you're making me excited!

    - Ellie at The Selkie Reads Stories

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've seen this one around and the story sounds wonderful but so sad. How unfair to be forced to live a life that's not your own?! I need to read this someday. Wonderful review, Dannielle. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. ooh, everything sounds amazing! I have a copy and I am really excited to read it. Though my only problem would be the love angle because of her only being 15.. that is way too young =\

    great review,
    - Juhina @ Maji Bookshelf

    ReplyDelete
  4. Glad that you liked this, Dani! <3 It really is special to me. :)

    Precious @ Fragments of Life

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm glad to hear Eva makes your favourite characters! I've heard nothing but good things about this book, and although I have a copy now, I still haven't read it yet! I can't wait to get started soon. :) Lovely review, Dannielle.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This is one of those books that I've always been curious about but never really had the urge to buy. I've obviously been missing out though :) I'm glad the characters are realistic, and you mentioning Crewel makes me realize I need to read that one too, lol! Great review!!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Online Data Entry Jobs (11562)
    Earn dollars by working at home, just add post
    online data on classified sites and get money by work at home
    For details visit (http://www.JobzInn.com)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh, yes, I liked this one a lot too. It was well written, and the characters were awesome, but I had some trouble with the basic concept of wanting to replace your loved ones, which is why I didn't give it a 5.
    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Yay! So glad you loved The Lost Girl too Danielle, I originally wasn't going to give this a try, but the glowing reviews convinced me to change my mind and I'm so glad that I did as it's definitely one of my favourites from this review! Great review! :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. This has been on my top of my dying-to-read list! So glad you liked it. Maybe I should borrow it also from Precious. :D

    ReplyDelete
  11. This Is A Time Of Digitization, We Offer You Programming(11562)

    With Best PHP Programming It Is Best, It Is Cheapest,
    We Are Introducing Now The New Techniques Of PHP Programming,
    Viruses & Hacker Now Should Be Forget You Site
    For More Details www.bestonlinejob.net

    ReplyDelete
  12. This Is A Time Of Digitization, We Offer You Programming(11562)

    With Best PHP Programming It Is Best, It Is Cheapest,
    We Are Introducing Now The New Techniques Of PHP Programming,
    Viruses & Hacker Now Should Be Forget You Site
    For More Details www.bestonlinejob.net

    ReplyDelete

We really appreciate it if you can leave a comment and tell us what you think!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Imagination Designs