Saturday, October 27, 2012

Review: Crewel (Crewel World #1) by Gennifer Albin

Title: Crewel (Crewel World #1)
Author: Gennifer Albin
Published:  October 16th 2012 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Book taken from Netgalley  
Book Description:
Incapable. Awkward. Artless.

That’s what the other girls whisper behind her back. But sixteen year-old Adelice Lewys has a secret: she wants to fail.

Gifted with the ability to weave time with matter, she’s exactly what the Guild is looking for, and in the world of Arras, being chosen as a Spinster is everything a girl could want. It means privilege, eternal beauty, and being something other than a secretary. It also means the power to embroider the very fabric of life. But if controlling what people eat, where they live and how many children they have is the price of having it all, Adelice isn’t interested.

Not that her feelings matter, because she slipped and wove a moment at testing, and they’re coming for her—tonight.

Now she has one hour to eat her mom’s overcooked pot roast. One hour to listen to her sister’s academy gossip and laugh at her Dad’s stupid jokes. One hour to pretend everything’s okay. And one hour to escape.

Because once you become a Spinster, there’s no turning back.


Okay, this book is really good. It’s magical, one of a kind and utterly too hard to put down. As a reader, I don’t want to leave. This book will swallow you in.

 The story is about Adelice, a young girl with a secret. She can weave time with matter. She was taught to hide her talent. But during her test, Adelice slips. Now the Guild wants her. With the power to create worlds and also to destroy it, Adelice carries a huge responsibility. But she’s not like any other Spinsters, she wants out. Lured in a world of power, privilege and eternal beauty, will she able to resist temptation? Who can she trust? Will she be able to escape? You have to pick up this book to find out.

The world building is phenomenal! I have this thing for great world building and this book “wowed” me. It’s pulsating, incredible, innovating and rich. Arras is a world, you don’t want to leave. It has all the elements that I love, dystopian and sci-fi. Though this book has the tendency to confuse, you really have to concentrate while reading this. Again, the world building is innovating and rich; it’s complex. There were some terms that were taken literally like, weaving matter. I also like how Albin described Adelice world in a mouth watering way. There were some “oohhhh” and “ahhhh” moments for me. I was totally impressed.

What made me love this book more is the twist! Yes, I was surprised. I swear! I never saw it coming. There were also some parts from the book that made me sad and angry. Once you disobey, you get ripped, like you never existed and altered so no one can remember you.  It‘s death but more cruel.

The characters are well made. I felt this instant connection with them, especially with Adelice. I love how she went through an emotional ride. She was scared, curious and then matured into fearless and strong-minded. She’s kick-ass! I love her. And then, there’s the two hot boys that gave me knee melting experience, but I won’t share them with you here. Read this book to find out more about them. –hihi-

It is hard to explain the love angle. There was a hint of it. Yes, just a hint of sugar and a bit of spice. Since, there is a brewing love triangle and also a twist. I think the love triangle will be full blown on book two.

Overall this book is amazing. Readers who like Divergent and Crossed series will love this.  If you’re looking for a new book that is one of a kind, this book is for you.

I give this book 4.5 matter weaving whales.


  1. Beautiful review!! I agree about everything that you've said! This book is magic, pure awesomeness. I still remember, I needed to go to a party and I was an hour late already and I was on 93% of the book! I wanted to scream!! Because I knew I would be even more late, so I literally forced myself to put it down and go to the party. Uh huh. I've read it the next day and OMG what a twist of events!! I was shocked!! I can't wait to read the second one! :) Great review! ;)

  2. I actually found the world building twist almost disappointing because I was so enamoured with a high-tech world powered by magic. But it seems like the sequel will have to be very different from the first book, so I'm excited to see where the author will take it.

  3. Great review! The book sounds fantastic and I wish I got the chance to read it on NetGalley. Well, I suppose I'll just have to hunt down a copy on Amazon or something(:

  4. I loved the world building as well!!! How awesome is Gennifer Albin's skills at that!?!

    Great review!!!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog & following. I am following your blog as well now =)


  5. To be honest, this is the first good-ish review I've read of Crewel lately. There's been mixed reviews allover the blogosphere and I'm hesitant now about picking this up. :( However, your praise on the world-building and the characters really got to me. <3 So I will reconsider. ;) Thanks for the review!

    Fragments of Life


We really appreciate it if you can leave a comment and tell us what you think!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Imagination Designs