Monday, February 20, 2012

Series Review: Pendragon Series (1-10) by D.J MacHale

Title: Pendragon Series ( 1-10)
Author: D.J MacHale
Published: 2002-2009 by Aladdin
Book Description:

Imagine what it would be like to discover you aren’t the person you thought you were.
Bobby Pendragon was living the life of a normal 14 year old guy, until his Uncle Press appeared with a mission: protect all of time and space from a demon named Saint Dane, a cold-blooded villain who wants nothing less than the dismantling of  humanity. The only force standing in Saint Dane’s way is a mysterious group of people called Travelers, and Bobby is surprised to discover that he is one of them.The amazing truth behind this battle for time and space gradually unravels  for Bobby over the course of the Pendragon books. Along the way, he encounters the kind of nail-biting, hairy adventures that he used to love to watch in the movies, but finds that in his new life, they  could not be more real.

My Thoughts:
This series has ended for a while but it is one of the series that I really like so much. It is a 10 Book part about Bobby Pendragon who is a Traveler and as the name suggests, travels to different worlds. To those who likes adventure type of story just like me, this is a good series to read. Since this is a finished series, the points that will be said here is for the general Positives and Negatives of the whole series.

So now for our Positives:
1. The series as a whole, the way it is being presented through Bobby's POV is unique. (I have not read anything like it) but the POV is presented by means of  "Journals". Sort of like a diary which is being read by Bobby's bestfriend in the story. Each book is divided by the Journals and while reading it you will feel as if you are connected with the main character as well. That what makes this format unique and makes you more immersed throughout the journey.
2. Every Book presents itself with something new and important to the story. Its as if each book is a part of something of a bigger plan and once you miss something you will be lost. But that is just another good side of this book. It just makes you want to read more and read the next book right away.
3. D.J. MacHale knows how to end each of his book. He always ends his books on a cliffhanger. And not just ordinary cliffhangers. These endings that he makes make you look forward to the next book as well as letting you take a peak on what will happen next. For me I think this builds the excitement even more. 
4. For each book, there is a clear build up part. Slowly but surely he will take you the end of the book without being bored. Some mystery here and there and once you reach the ending part BOOM! it will be a polarizing experience. Either you will be sad about knowing what happened, or you will be happy at the same time or you will either cry. The climax part will always be the part the you will look forward to with every book. 
5. Lastly for the economic side, I think you the price is fairly reasonable for such a thick and condensed book. I easily bought the books from my allowance money when I was still a student. :D

1. 10 books will pose as a challenge to most readers since it is a long story. Some maybe intimated and give up at the knowledge of that number.
2. This is an exception to "without being bored" mentioned above. Book 1 starts slowly since they are just introducing the in and outs of the story but if you are decided to read the series please give an extra patience. Ending of Book 1 is amazing but yeah the start is a little bit shaky. But once you reach Book 2 the roller coaster ride excitement will begin.
3. You will surely invest a lot of time since it is 10 books.
So there you go. This is my first review of a finished series. I just hope I convinve someone to read this even thought it is finished and long. 
Till the next review!

I give this series 4  whales


  1. I have the first book in this series on my Kindle which I picked up as a free download and have wondered whether I would enjoy it or not. I will definitely give it a try and it looks like I will have to read book 2 as well before I decide for sure. Thanks and a great review :)

    1. @dalene hello :D yup you should give the boo a try :D as I said it starts slow (for me) but it really gets good. I hope you continue with the series.:D -Book Hoarder-


We really appreciate it if you can leave a comment and tell us what you think!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Imagination Designs